Region 18 Superintendent and School Board of the Year

Dr. Dewitt Smith, Region 18 ESC Executive Director/CEO, presented to Dr. Denise Shetter, Superintendent of Kermit ISD, Region 18's Superintendent of the Year award during the regularly scheduled board meeting on September 12, 2018 at 7:00 p.m.
Dr. Smith also presented the Kermit ISD Board of Trustees Region 18's School Board of the Year award during the regularly scheduled board meeting.
Pictured from left to right: Odie Marshall, Victor Berzoza, Brian Awbrey, Dr. Dewitt Smith, Terri Pando, and Charles Woods. Members not pictured are: Lee Lentz-Edwards and Lorena Lujan.
Dr. Smith applauded Dr. Shetter and the Board of Trustees for their continued support of the KISD schools. He spoke of their dedication to creating an atmosphere of high expectations of the teachers as well as the students. Dr. Smith praised the Board on their pledge to increasing educational opportunities for KISD students to excel in school as well as their commitment to preparing the youth for opportunities beyond high school.
In order to receive these prestigious awards, the recipients were nominated, interviewed, and selected by a committee of their peers. Congratulations to the leadership team of 8 of Kermit ISD and their success.